top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarshall Vigil

Intrusive Pinky, "I Hate You, Patriarch Fuck!" EP Review

Electro-punk provocateurs, Intrusive Pinky, have surfaced with their first ever EP, "I Hate You, Patriarch Fuck!", immediately setting themselves apart from their peers with a sound that is so out there, it has to be heard to believed. And then listened to again, just to make sure you heard it right the first time. The self-described modular duo of Jackie and Diana, offer a bassy, glitchy take on industrial/electro-punk, complete with moody synths and computerized beeps. But even then, it's still not quite what you are used to hearing, and that is easily one of the best things about this ground breaking EP. The structuring of the compositions are very non-traditional, and borderline off-the-wall. The eclectic nature of the music provides the canvas for Jackie to paint the soundscape with her stream of consciousness style, non-sequitur lyrics and vocal performance. In the best way possible, it is like Beat poetry set to minimalist industrial music, proving itself as a statement of pure artistic expression. As I said previously, I found myself listening repeatedly to make sure I heard it right the first time, but ultimately I found myself repeating the entire EP because it is honestly as catchy as it is pleasantly odd. The scene was lacking a certain avante-garde approach to the genre, and it is gleefully fulfilled by Intrusive Pinky.

Standout Track: "Polar Bears and Rainbows"


34 views0 comments
bottom of page